Getting rid of spots without spending a fortune

Everyone hates spots; forever trying to get rid of and hide the gross redness and painfulness that they bring! Having had to deal with them for over a decade, and having tried a gazillion products on the market, I seem to have found what works for my skin. Don’t get me wrong, this doesn’t stop me getting spots but seems to be the quickest way to get rid of them. It’s also worth mentioning that my skin is sensitive, and is dry, but oily in some places too; I’ve tried a fair few products which others have raved about and it either makes no difference or makes my face breakout even more. I’m not made of money either so haven’t been able to invest lots of money into products, meaning that everything listed here are easily affordable.

Just before I get started it’s important to note that I’m not an expert at all when it comes to this kind of stuff. However, this is what I’ve found is best for my skin having struggled to find products my skin agrees with, so thought I’d share it with you.

Firstly, lemon water. I always forget how much this helps my skin and prevents breakouts until I stop taking it for a few days. Squeeze the juice of half a lemon into a mug and top up with boiling water. Add some cold or wait for it to cool slightly and drink! I also find drinking lots of water throughout the day helps.

The below products are ones that I’ve found which together, help my skin:

1. Simple Kind to Skin Cleansing Facial Wipes

I love the Simple range. I also use the Simple Day Cream and Simply Night Cream to moisturize. These don’t dry out my skin and they don’t require serious rubbing to remove eye makeup either.

2. Neutrogena Visibly Clear Pink Grapefruit Daily Scrub

I’ve only recently discovered this face wash. It smells AMAZING. For years I’ve used the Simple Spotless Skin Triple Action Face Wash, which I also highly recommend (although am finding it harder and harder to find), but I have been loving this Neutrogena one.

3. Simple Spotless Skin Rapid Action Spot Zapper

This isn’t the best spot treatment I’ve found, but it definitely reduces the redness and soreness of spots, and can also be worn under makeup. The others in this list are more effective but due to their consistency don’t sit well under foundation (peel/flake!).

4. Formula 10.0.6 RESCUE ME! Blemish Care

I find this really good for getting rid of smaller spots, and larger spots that have gone down lots already and need that final push to get rid of! Unlike the Simple Spot Zapper, I use this one as part of my night routine after removing my makeup, and using the face wash and moisturizer. It can peel off, so although fine at night time, it can’t really be worn in the day which is a shame.

5. Mario Badescu Drying Lotion

I originally saw this featured in a Zoella’s favourite video and have since heard it mentioned by various people. It’s great! It’s the only spot treatment that I found works on my huge, crater-like spots. However, it does take several sessions with it more the spot to go, especially on larger spots.From past experience though, this drying lotion really does reduce spots quicker than other products I have used in the past. The only negative thing I would say about this is that as it’s a night treatment, it sometimes has a tendency to rub off in my sleep.

image1-1

I hope this helps some of you who have to deal with spots. If you’re only going to do one of these things, I would have lemon water as I feel that it is the best prevention for outbreaks, but I’d highly recommend using the products, too. Plus you’ll smell super pretty if you use the Pink Grapefruit scrub!

Please do let me know if you’ve used any of these products and what you’ve thought of them – or if you have any others you can recommend!

Leave a Reply

