Chocolate Cake 🎂

Whilst I’m no huge fan of chocolate cake (I know, I know – unbelievable), it would be super naive of me to not realise that others love a good chocolate cake! With Simon’s birthday being last week, I thought I’d make one of his fave cakes – chocolate cake.

I used the trusted Be-Ro recipe which always gives me great results! However, I used their variation on the Victoria Sponge cake rather than the ‘Milk Chocolate Cake’. I also used the Be-Ro recipe for the chocolate buttercream as it’s the perfect amount for this cake!

Honestly, this cake is so yum, even I enjoy a small slice of it! Something which you can’t see in the photo, is that I actually put a layer of chocolate covered popping candy between the buttercream and top layer of cake for a surprise! I was worried it’d go soggy in between me baking it and it being eaten but it worked a treat!

To write the ‘HAPPY BIRTHDAY SIMON!’ I melted down x1 120g bar of Milkybar (although only actually used half!) and used a small-holed nozzle in a food bag to pipe the letters onto some baking paper, and left in the fridge over night. Putting them on the baking paper made it super easy to lift off and place onto the cake, and meant if I went wrong when piping it, it wouldn’t ruin the cake.

Anyways, here is the recipe. Let me know if you try it and what your thoughts are!

Chocolate Cake

Ingredients

For the cake:                                                       For the buttercream

150g (5 oz) self-raising flour, sifted                       100g (4 oz) unsalted butter

25 g (1 oz) cocoa powder, sifted                             220g (8 oz) icing sugar

175g (6 oz) caster sugar                                            2 tbsp cocoa, sifted

175g (6 oz) unsalted butter                                     Splash of milk to loosen mixture if needed

3 large eggs, beaten

1 tbsp boiling water

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 C / 160 C (fan) / gas 4
  2. Grease and line the base of 2 x 7 inch sandwich tins with baking paper
  3. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy Gradually add the beaten eggs and water with a little of the flour. Gently fold in the remainder of the flour until all the ingredients are combined
  4. Turn into prepared tins and level the surface (I used scales to make sure the mixture was equal in each of the tins)
  5. Bake for 25-30 minutes until well-risen, golden (as far as you can tell with it already being brown!) and firm to the touch – the spring back test is always a good one
  6. Allow to cool in the tins for 5 minutes, then turn out and cool fully on a wire rack
  7. Sandwich together with the buttercream (and chocolate covered popping candy in my case!) and decorate as desired
    • I used the melted white chocolate writing, Maltesers and crumbled flake to decorate the top of mine!
img_2793
The cake! Sorry there aren’t more photos – it didn’t last long!
Leave a Reply

